EBCE Holiday Hours

EBCE will be closed on November 26 and 27 for Thanksgiving. Happy holidays.

Enjoy this article about wild turkeys in the East Bay

Who We Are

EBCE is a public agency based in Oakland with a staff of about 30, governed by a Board of local elected officials. EBCE is staffed primarily by renewable energy industry veterans.

Group of employees who work at East Bay Community Energy

Board of Directors

The East Bay Community Energy Board of Directors is made up of an elected official from each of the participating jurisdictions and one representative (non-voting) from the Community Advisory Committee (CAC). Our Board meets once a month and all meetings are open to the public. Visit the Public Meetings page for more information about the Board’s meetings.

The Board sets rates and determines the mix of power sources. You can view a copy of the final Joint Powers Authority agreement here (PDF).

EBCE’s Board of Directors has an Executive Committee that meets monthly. Members of the Executive Committee are indicated in bold.

Alameda CountySupervisor Scott HaggertySupervisor Nate Miley
AlbanyMayor Nick PilchCouncil Member Peggy McQuaid
BerkeleyMayor Jesse ArreguinCouncil Member Kate Harrison
DublinCouncil Member Melissa HernandezCouncil Member Arun Goel
EmeryvilleCouncil Member Dianne Martinez, Vice ChairCouncil Member Scott Donahue
FremontMayor Lily MeiCouncil Member Vinnie Bacon
HaywardCouncil Member Al MendallCouncil Member Elisa Marquez
LivermoreCouncil Member Trish MunroCouncil Member Robert Carling
NewarkCouncil Member Mike HannonMayor Al Nagy
OaklandCouncil Member Dan Kalb, ChairCouncil Member Rebecca Kaplan
PiedmontCouncil Member Tim RoodCouncil Member Jen Cavanaugh
PleasantonCouncil Member Jerry PentinVice Mayor Kathy Narum
San LeandroCouncil Member Ed HernandezCouncil Member Corina Lopez
TracyCouncil Member Dan ArriolaCouncil Member Veronica Vargas
Union CityCouncil Member Jaime PatinoCouncil Member Gary Singh
Community Advisory Committee (non-voting)Mary Sutter, ChairJane Franch, Vice Chair

Note: In 2019 the cities of Newark, Pleasanton, and Tracy adopted ordinances and resolutions to join EBCE’s Joint Powers Authority, and subsequently EBCE’s Board adopted a resolution to include those cities within EBCE’s Joint Powers Authority and service area, with customer enrollments to begin in 2021.

Community Advisory Committee

The Community Advisory Committee (CAC) consists of nine members plus two alternates appointed by the Board of Directors. The committee acts as a liaison between key stakeholders and our Board, holding public committee meetings on a regular basis. Visit the Public Meetings page for more information about CAC meetings.

About the Community Advisory Committee

The Community Advisory Committee was formed in 2016 as part of the East Bay Community Energy Joint Powers Authority and appointed by the Board of Directors to advise the Board on all subjects related to the operations of the Community Choice Aggregation program. The CAC gives the community a voice in its choice for electricity services, clean energy resource investments, and local energy projects.

EBCE strives to ensure a diversity of members and alternates based on location, population, work experience, and community interest.

Interested in Joining the Community Advisory Committee?

If you are interested in being a Community Advisory Committee Member or Alternate, please sign up below for email notifications of upcoming public meetings and events to be alerted when the application period is open.

EBCE encourages service-area residents or business owners who have owned/operated a business in the service area for at least 5 years, to apply.

Click to see the Community Advisory Committee Work Plan (PDF)

NameOrganizationStakeholder CategoryCity of Residence
Anne Olivia EldredCalifornia Nurses Assoc./ National Nurses UnitedLabor Union/Public HealthOakland
Jane Franch, Vice ChairNumi Organic TeaBusinessBerkeley
Cynthia LandrySEIU Local 1021Labor UnionOakland
Monica PadillaSilicon Valley Clean EnergyEnergy Advocate/RatepayerFremont
Mary Sutter, ChairGrounded ResearchEnergy Advocate/RatepayerHayward
Ernie PachecoCommunication Workers of America, District 9, AFL-CIOLabor UnionHayward

Leadership Team & Staff

Leadership Team

Administration, Finance, and Legal

Data and Technology

Marketing and Account Services

Power Procurement


Public Policy

Get the latest in your inbox